Onwards

With finals around the corner and the last class of World Politics today, it’s time to wrap up this semester. I’m really happy that Vinnie gave us all the push to start blogs and websites because it has been a fun and sometimes a cathartic experience to write these posts. I hope I have covered interesting topics and that I’ve provided a good mix of information, analysis, and personal experience.

I look forward to continuing this blog after a short break. I’ll probably start writing again after Christmas or early in 2015. Thank you, Vinnie, for the most thought-provoking class I’ve ever taken. I left class many times with tears in my eyes, including today. Your analysis of current and historical issues has pushed me to question some of my assumptions and position in this world. And yet this is only the beginning! I hope to hone my skills of analysis and persuasion, and to find what I’m good at, and, as you say, let a career pursue me. Thank you for your faith in me and in my generation.

I’m not going to try to conclude in any decisive way, especially because I will continue this blog. My outlook on climate change, environmental degradation, population growth, and species extinction changes almost daily, so I couldn’t give you any pat answer or interpretation of all of this. What I know is that my generation is inspired and ready for the fight ahead. We have no choice. The challenges we face are colossal. But we have so much love and humanity and grit, that I really believe that through our lives we will continue to fight and create, hopefully, a world worth living in, although probably radically different from the one we have today. We simply have so much to fight for. It’s a beautiful world out there, and that’s my inspiration every day.

And to finish, enjoy these beautiful photographs. Enjoy the natural world. Go outside.

Anjan Lal

Anjan Lal

Anton Belovodchenko

Anton Belovodchenko

Ashish Joshi

Ashish Joshi

Ganesh Ravi Iyer

Ganesh Ravi Iyer

J Venkat

J Venkat

Manohara Kamath

Manohara Kamath

Mihir Mahajan

Mihir Mahajan

Raj Krishnani

Raj Krishnani

Savio Sanches

Savio Sanches

Shaji Mohammed

Shaji Mohammed

Subhash Nair

Subhash Nair

Sucheth Lingachar

Sucheth Lingachar

Tejus Naik

Tejus Naik

Vinit Arora

Vinit Arora

Leave a Reply

