Amsterdam: Day Two

What a day! Let’s start at the beginning…

I went to the Van Gogh Museum early this morning. I bought a ticket from the hostel, so luckily I got to skip the line, which is always very long! The museum was incredible – I really didn’t think I would like it as much as I did, even though I love museums. I realized I knew embarrassingly little about Van Gogh’s life, so I learned a lot. And the art, of course, speaks for itself.

IMG_0763

IMG_0762

IMG_0759 IMG_0760

Next, I planned to go to the Kattenkabinet, which I wrote a post about earlier. To get there I walked through the southern canal belt:

Kattenkabinet was as amazing and kitschy and catty as I had hoped. It’s located in an old canal house, one of the only ones that is open to the public, and I had the entire museum (only a few rooms) to myself. And I even pet… TWO cats! They were both very sleepy, but seemed to enjoy the attention. Below you’ll find tons of pictures.

IMG_0782

IMG_0787

IMG_0786

IMG_0792

IMG_0791

IMG_0793

IMG_0794

IMG_0796

IMG_0785IMG_0799

IMG_0802

IMG_0788

IMG_0790

IMG_0798

IMG_0805

IMG_0801

IMG_0803

I walked along the canals and found a classic Dutch cheese shop that had lots of free samples, so of course I helped myself to them. Yummy. I then decided to go to a sandwich shop called Loekie, where I got a delicious sandwich with goat cheese, arugula, pine nuts, and honey. I ate the sandwich next to a canal and shared some of the bread with some pigeons. It’s like I never left New York!

IMG_0816

IMG_0818

Throughout the afternoon I walked around the southern canals and enjoyed the sights, taking pictures of the crazier and sillier things I saw. Here are some highlights:

IMG_0771

IMG_0808

IMG_0809

IMG_0813

IMG_0819

IMG_0820

IMG_0823

IMG_0830

IMG_0764

IMG_0835

IMG_0831

IMG_0825

I then walked back to the hostel because I had plans to meet a family friend that afternoon. I walked back through Rembrandtplein and Leidseplein. I took my book to Vondelpark, right outside the hostel, and read in the sunshine and watched dogs and bicyclists until it was time to meet my friend. As you can probably tell from the pictures, I love dogs.

IMG_0849

IMG_0854

IMG_0852

She has an adorable dog, and the three of us walked to the Jordaan, a neighborhood with gorgeous canals and houses. We had tea and talked politics, New York City, and animals (three great subjects), and then walked back to Vondelpark. We parted, and I decided to venture to de Pijp (a neighborhood) for dinner.

The walk to de Pijp along the Rijksmuseum, a canal, and small streets was wonderful, but I didn’t manage to find the hole-in-the-wall Italian restaurant I was looking for. So I went to my second choice, Bazaar Amsterdam, which turned out to be incredible.

IMG_0876

I walked back toward the museums to a cafe called Welling, and had a La Chouffe, read my book, and looked at this view. What an end to a sweet, busy day.

IMG_0878

Leave a Reply

